DC quick pics

Holy moly, air travel ain’t what it needs to be! Wednesday was a loooooooooong day, filled with aggravation, frustration, and exhaustion. We missed our ATL connection, were on standby for a 5:55 flight that left at 6:30ish, didn’t get on that one;  then, were confirmed for an 8:30 flight that actually left about 10:30 pm and changed gates at least twice with no announcement from Delta. Long day, but I did finally get to sleep in my bed the following morning about 1:30.

Up early on Thursday to go to the cell phone store (my man lost his in DC), then realized he also lost his debit card. Yes, I’m thinking of getting super glue for all the things he has to keep up with, but that’s a tale for another day. Finally got a nap Thursday afternoon and began to feel human again. Slept like a dead person last night, and got up feeling great today.

So, here are the pictures I mentioned in the last post, followed by the things I loved about DC, and the things I wasn’t so crazy about.

White House north lawn, night view

White House north lawn, night view

White House north lawn

White House north lawn

Capitol building

Capitol building

Iwo Jima

Iwo Jima

Iwo Jima and Washington monument

Iwo Jima and Washington monument

Mount Vernon

Mount Vernon

Mount Vernon, from the river

Mount Vernon, from the river

Lincoln memorial

Lincoln memorial

Lincoln memorial

Lincoln memorial

Korean War Memorial, my favorite.  I went back multiple times, absolutely loved this.

Korean War Memorial, my favorite. I went back multiple times, absolutely loved this.

Korean Memorial, with reflections on wall

Korean Memorial, with reflections on wall

Thomas Jefferson quote

Thomas Jefferson quote

More from Korea

More from Korea

Iwo Jima, Marine memorialIwo Jima, Marine memorial

Medical Corpsman carving, Navy Memorial

Medical Corpsman carving, Navy Memorial

Navy memorial, for my dad

Navy memorial, for my dad

Navy Memorial

Navy Memorial

North lawn of White House, early morning

North lawn of White House, early morning

Smithsonian Castle

Smithsonian Castle

South lawn of White House

South lawn of White House

Washington monument, covered in scaffolding due to repairs from earthquake damage

Washington monument, covered in scaffolding due to repairs from earthquake damage

The Potomac river from Arlington bridge, taken on our night bike ride to Arlington cemetery
The Potomac river from Arlington bridge, taken on our night bike ride to Arlington cemetery

There may or may not have been some serious deviation from my diet here.

There may or may not have been some serious deviation from my diet here.

Jefferson Memorial across the Tidal Basin

Jefferson Memorial across the Tidal Basin

A little Mississippi at the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

A little Mississippi at the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

Braves/Nats game

Braves/Nats game

Things I loved:
1) DC is very walker friendly. We saw most of the sights by walking to them. Renting bikes was fun, too, if a little nerve wracking.

2) It was easy to plan our trip online before we got there, purchasing metro passes, tickets to Mount Vernon and other attractions (we did). It’s a tech friendly city, you’re even able to order food from your seat at the Nationals ball park using your cell phone (we didn’t).

3) The Smithsonians are all free admission!  Loved that!

4) The metro/rail system was pretty easy to figure out and was cleaner than others I’ve used.

5) The Braves swept the series.  🙂

Didn’t love:

1) Wi-fi was a little wonky everywhere.  Almost enough to make me a black helicopter girl.  Well, even more than I already am.

2) Nats fans.  (See #5 above)

3) Crowding on subway leaving the ballgame.  Of course, my man has a “show no fear, take no prisoners” way about him, so I tucked in behind him and moved forward on his slipstream.

4) Scaffolding, scaffolding, scaffolding.  Great images were hard to come by with so much repair work going on.  Of course, I realize this is necessary & that summer is probably the best working time, but it sure put a crimp in my style.
5) Crowds on the National Mall were epic, but I think that’s to be expected. It wasn’t too bad early in the day.

A very nice trip overall, but I’m not sure I’ll go back anytime soon.  Would love to have had a few more days in the National Portrait Gallery & other Smithsonian art museums, but maybe not enough to plan another trip around them.  Bottom line, I think everyone should visit our nation’s capitol at least once.  It’s a beautiful city with a lot to offer.

Leave a Reply

