Run-about

Some days it’s just good to be alive.  I’m in New York City for a few days, on a business/fun/girl trip with my sister, her business partner, and some friends.  They all had a make-up convention today (my sister owns a fabulous skin care franchise called Fluer de Vis), so I had the day for myself.

I’m not sure what it is about this city that makes a crowd hating, redneck country girl who loves wide open spaces and the ocean love it so, but I do.  I love to visit here, run in Central Park, wander about the city, take photos, people watch, visit museums, see great shows, and eat at all the best restaurants.  I usually visit at least once a year, but this is the first time I’ve been back since running the NYC marathon in 2011.  I’ve eagerly anticipated this trip for months.

I decided to try a new running route this time.  I love running in Central Park, but I always do that.  I’m the lone runner in the group, so I did some research and discovered the West Side Bicycle/Running path that traverses the west side of the island along the Hudson River.   I talked to several people, including the hotel concierge, and decided it was safe to  try it solo.

I got up this morning, got all my gear on, made sure I had my road ID, as well as cash, credit card, and phone, and I headed out. I don’t think there are words or pictures that do justice to the beauty of today’s run, so I’ll just offer you these images and hope you’ll come do this run one beautiful spring day yourself.

I started at 46th St, at the USS Intrepid.

I started at 46th St, at the USS Intrepid.

Hudson River

Hudson River

image

9/11 Memorial

9/11 Memorial

Lady Liberty from across the bay in Battery Park

Lady Liberty from across the bay in Battery Park

Happy runner at 9/11 Memorial

Happy runner at 9/11 Memorial

Beautiful green space at Battery Park

Beautiful green space at Battery Park

Empire State Building

Empire State Building

Twelve miles, one venti coffee, one hot dog, one pretzel, and about ten gallons of water later, I’m tired, but happy. Now, to find tickets for a show tonight! Central Park run tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

