Serenity

On Facebook this month, a lot of people have been listing things they are thankful for daily.  I love that.  Although I haven’t participated publicly, I’ve enjoyed reading my friend’s posts and marveled at how blessed we all are.  Probably my favorite thing about social media is seeing photos of friends and family and keeping up with their lives.  Okay, sometimes, they overshare.  But, that’s a post for another day.

I try to live my life in a spirit of Thanksgiving, consciously verbalizing prayers of thanksgiving when I first open my eyes each day and before I close them again each night.  There are so many blessings in my life, and I am humbly grateful.  No one deserves them less, but no one is more grateful. Today is always a wonderful reminder to be thankful for the bounty we have as a nation.  For health, friends, and family.

My day started early with preparations for lunch for six, going to the nursing home to see my Dad, then loading our van for a few days at the beach.  It’s race week for me, and I’m more than excited about race day on Saturday.  Perfect weather, my daughter running the 5k while I run the half, my man at the start & finish lines waving his crutches, cheering us on.  Even a celebrity appearance by Meb.  Can. Not. Wait.  I may have over-embraced my taper week, to the point that I feel a little fat and lazy.  Hopefully, it will give me fresh legs and not adversely affect my race.  The huge slice of Italian creme cake I had for dessert today, on the other hand, I may live to regret.  But, life is short, and I don’t eat dessert very often.

My list of blessings is long.  At the very top is my crazy husband with his wicked sense of humor who is my best friend and strongest supporter (as well as a fairly mean coach).  I like him so much more now than I did all those years ago when I married him.  And, I really liked him then.  He inspires me in more ways than he knows.  When I feel like slacking, all I have to do is think of how hard he is working with his physical therapy and I push on.  If he can do the workouts he does with a broken leg, I can get my tush in gear and out the door on days I don’t feel like running.  It’s harder for him to inspire me to strength training, so he usually guilt trips me to it.  It’s working, though.  And, it’s helping my training a lot. I really hate it when he’s right, especially about strength training.

My beautiful daughters inspire and motivate me to keep running, and they even join me on occasion.  My sisters encourage me, help me carry the load, and pray for me, my sweet daddy is a treasure to all who know him and  passed his strong will on to me.  My girlfriends are sisters of my heart.  I’m truly thankful for them all, today and everyday.  Laughter around the holiday table is music to my heart.

Tonight, I’m thankful for the quiet serenity that the beach provides, a lovely place to enjoy it with my family, a glass of wine on the balcony, leftovers for supper, and the ability to run the race on Saturday. I’m thankful that the sneezy, achy, cough I felt coming on yesterday disappeared in a cloud of peppermint schnapps last night, and so far hasn’t reappeared to ruin race weekend.  And, I’m thankful for a papaw who taught me that little trick many years ago.  I’m thankful that, even though I forgot the sweet tea and the bottled water and now I’ll have to go to the store on Black Friday, after all; at least I remembered the wine and the coffee.  A girl has to have her priorities.

I’m thankful for what running has brought to my life as I get older.  The peace that fills my soul after a good run, the thoughts and creativity that runs inspire, the unbreakable bond to my Creator that is reinforced with every step.  And, finally,  I’m thankful that although I may not be able to run one day, today is not that day.

Leave a Reply

