New normals

Wow, it’s been a long week.  All the days ran together and Gary & I kept asking each other, “What day is it?”  We are such creatures of habit that this week has been… different.  We have deeply established eating, sleeping, working, and exercise patterns that have all been thrown into chaos this week.  But, we’ve survived.  And, today, I think I can finally say that Gary is a lot better.  We actually made it to church this morning, late, but there.  If you know me at all, you know I don’t do late.  But, I’m cutting myself some slack this week, and that’s one of the things I’ve let fall by the wayside.  And, it was the train’s fault.  If you live in our area, you know the kind – the engine is in New Orleans while the caboose is in Meridian.  We also left the service early, another first for us.  We were able to stay for the entire message, but we ducked out to beat the crowd.  Crowds and wheelchairs with a leg extended were more than this old broad was ready to navigate.  Great service, though.  So glad we were able to go.  Brought some normality to our week.

Today was also the first day this week I was able to get in a run.  I’m a morning runner, and the weather here has been perfect for early runs.  But, every morning this week, my “I don’t do mornings” persona has raised her snarly head off the couch, checked with Gary to make sure he’s ok, thought about the neatly laid out running clothes in the bedroom, rolled her eyes, and pulled the covers back over her head.  I thought she was gone for good, but, turns out, she functions better in the mornings on a full night’s sleep,  not one that has been broken up into four hour sleep segments. Imagine that.   She also really likes sleeping in her comfy bed with her man snuggled close, and that’s just not happening right now.  I’ve been unmotivated to run in the mornings, but by late evening, I have ants in my pants and really need to get some movement in.  I seldom do late day runs. It’s usually hot as, well, you know, and I’m typically done by 5 pm and ready to get supper, bathe, and hit the sack by 8:30.  But, that isn’t my life right now, so I’m looking for a new normal.

I’m always full of advice for runners who have lost their motivation, so I decided to take my own advice, for a change.  First off, I gave myself permission to be sluggish this week.  I haven’t had to get up every four hours in a very long time.  Even when our daughter was a baby, she slept through the night most of the time, so I’m spoiled to my sleep.  Sleep that is broken up in four hour segments simply isn’t as restful, so I understand why my “I don’t do mornings” gal is back in town.  I decided I would use some of that late day energy and run today, and I have to say, it was a very good run.  I’m not worrying about pace or distance.  Just needed a mental health run, and today’s run fit the bill completely.  Yes, I have a race in late November.  And, yes, I had a pace goal for that race.  It’s a race.  I’ll run it, finish it, and be happy with whatever time it takes me. Life is about so much more than a pace in a race.  (Sounds a little like Dr. Seuss, doesn’t it?)

Anyway, we see the doctor tomorrow, and our prayer is that Gary’s leg will be ready for surgery.  We are ready to start the healing process, this waiting is hard on both of us.  I’m ready for Gary’s pain to be gone (I’m sure he is, too), but, we realistically know that it’s here for the time being.

This week has been a reminder to me that we all face life issues that deter us from our goals.  Some are temporary, like ours, others are permanent and require readjusting goals, maybe even life plans.  As much as I like our disciplined life, it’s equally important to be flexible.  To learn how to function when you’re faced with unexpected challenges.  Because life is going to throw you some curve balls.  The trick is to learn how to catch them, field them, and score one for the team.  Right now, I think we’re 1-0.

10 thoughts on “New normals

  1. mizunogirl says:

    Benn thinking of you both daily and was glad to see your run posted. Hang in there. You will both come through this victorious.

  2. urdmbfan@yahoo.com says:

    We were @the 11:00 service…..hate I missed seeing u both…..hope u can make it Wed night…….continued prayers for Gary’s healing & strength for you!

    Luv u!
    Lisa
    Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  3. Dede Smith says:

    Jayne,
    I love that last paragraph – I hope you don’t mind, I have to copy & post that. What an inspiration you & Gary are. Praying for your family daily…

  4. michelle says:

    Great blog…I read lots in common with you….Hope you and your hunny get back on track soon but not before you learn all God wants you to through this setback! Enjoying your friendship,and blogposts!

  5. Shawn Wigley says:

    Queen of curve balls, right here!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

