Hospital updates

Yesterday was a long day. Thank God, His mercies are new every morning.

Gary is doing okay today. His pain is being managed and he is moving around some. We had a really long night last night, they had a time getting his pain under control, and of course, x-rays at 3 am don’t induce a good night’s rest. I’ve had lots of caffeine today and am holding up very well, although I do feel a crash in the not too distant future.

Specifics on Gary so far: He has a schatzker 6 left tibeal plateau fracture, which apparently is not too common. Of course. The fasciotomy done to alleviate the compartment syndrome has been successful so far, he’ll have surgery again on Thursday to repair the wounds, then we’ll be making some decisions about the fracture repair. The doctor showed us the x-rays & CT scans, and the phrase she used to describe the damage was “kibbles and bits”. So. Not much else to add there, we’re playing the waiting game and trying to take each hit as it rolls our way.

On a lighter note, I was happy to discover that driving “Dexter” (the creepy white van) was much easier than I thought it would be. Even in 5 o’clock traffic. I felt a little like an ant with a biscuit, but like that intrepid little critter, I carried the load & got the job done. I couldn’t leave Gary last night, so I took a spit bath after midnight, the kind nurses found me some clean clothes to put on, and we made the best of it. I waited for the doctors to all roll through today before I headed back down to Festus to get our things, but I’m back at the hospital now & settled in for the duration.

I’m quite sure I’ll have to find someplace nearby to run soon. A really nice surprise for me was to discover that Gary’s lead orthopedic doctor, as well as at least three of her residents are runners, so I’m sure they’ll be able to tell me where some safe running routes are nearby. I think it’s kind of rare for bone doctors to be runners. At least in my experience. So, I was excited by more than the fact that we share a hobby. I know that they will understand the importance of getting Gary back to doing the things he loves as quickly as possible.

I’ll leave you with a couple of images of the old man in his temporary prison.

20120910-180426.jpg

20120910-180447.jpg

And this would have been a good thing for him to be wearing yesterday as a reminder (his words, not mine).

20120910-180603.jpg

My last thoughts today are these, shared by one of my fellow bloggers, “Overcome by Joy” (sorry I couldn’t reblog it – I’m too tired to jump through the hoops my Ipad was requiring. I’ll try to link to your blog tomorrow!) She’s going through so much more than we are, and the verse she shared filled my soul with peace today. As I told my sister earlier, I’m not worried. I’m supernaturally calm. Praise Jesus.

26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. 27 And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God. Ephesians 8: 26-27

15 thoughts on “Hospital updates

  1. urdmbfan@yahoo.com says:

    God bless you both and continued prayers for blessings!!!!!
    Love you girl!!!!!!
    Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  2. Sandy easterling says:

    I see he has a wound vac! Poor fellow! Wish you all joy, peace and healing!

  3. mizunogirl says:

    Wow! I did not know of this accident, but I am happy to hear he is at a hospital where this can be taken care of. Make sure those Doctors and Nurses wash their hands…Let them know you know an Infection preventionist.

    I’ve spent some time on the other side of the bed lately, and it is not easy at all. Text me or call if you need anything!

    • jaynerich says:

      Thanks, Holly! We’re hanging in so far! It is pretty tough on this side of the cot, but others have it so much worse, and we have the Rock to stand on. We’ll be okay.

  4. sywelch says:

    I’m believing for his speedy recovery, in Jesus name. All he has to do now is believe for his complete healing and wait on the Lord to do the work. It’s already done:) Stay encouraged, my brother-in-Christ. I’ll pray for God to give you supernatural strength to do everything you need to do. Keep us posted.

  5. Lbby says:

    Jay
    Been where Gary is. The first 6 weeks are the hardest. I know that sounds like a l-o-n-g time but ‘it will pass
    Love you both. Can’t hardly wait to see my beautiful nieces and our Gman

  6. Linda Pierce says:

    Hang in there – if your princess needs anything – she knows how to get me…!!!

  7. Connie Litten says:

    Girl taking care of our men. It’s a full-time job. So hard to see them uncomfortable. I know you will be full fledge nurse after this. Lol. Thinking of you and keeping you two in our prayers

  8. msamyl says:

    Prayers for strength, healing, and an absoluteness that will wrap its arms around the two of you!
    In hindsight of the last few months Keith and I had together…. In the beginning it seemed cruel he had to endure back surgery, however I now see that God was just telling us we needed more time together. I needed to fulfill my natural role as a nurturer. However cruel it seemed at the time Gods plan is flawless! My new phrase about pretty much everything…. “it’s perfectly imperfect!” I love you so dearly and am here anytime you need anything! Love, Amanda Beech 🙂

    • jaynerich says:

      I love you, too, my precious friend, and when I think of how bad this could have been, I’m humbled and thankful. We’ll get through this, you’re one of the people I look to as proof of that! Pray for us, this is a struggle, but, with God’s help, we’ll persevere.

  9. Christy says:

    I love the comment and scripture at the bottom! Hoping God gives you a beautiful running place while you are there!

Leave a Reply

